About Me

Martina Walther, M.Sc. Computer Science

DSC_0171I am an Austrian national, grew up in Munich and went to school there. I always liked traveling and other countries fascinate me. In 2000 I had the opportunity to move to California with my husband and 2 young children. For over 7 years we lived in the Silicon Valley near San Francisco. Since we returned back to Germany our home is Düsseldorf.

I studied Computer Science at the Technical University of Munich at a time when the internet was still in its infancy. We used modems, few had an e-mail address and certainly nobody was online all the time. In the U.S. the World Wide Web  already was a lot more present. My kids’ preschool had a website. We found our house on the internet, not in the newspaper. MapQuest (a precursor of Google Maps) showed us the way. And when there was a party we received an Evite – an electronic invitation. Fascinated by the possibilities of the Internet, I soon handled the preschool’s website. Later I took a class “Web Publishing” at Foothill College, Los Altos Hills, California.

In 2005 I started my own business. Since then I work as a freelancer in web design and website support. When I went back to Germany in early 2008, I kept my small customer base in the U.S. and some of them are still with me today. With my experience in dealing with interested but non-technical clients, I today specialize in content management systems and websites for small businesses.

Über Mich

Martina Walther, Diplom-Informatikerin

DSC_0171Als gebürtige Österreicherin bin ich in München aufgewachsen und zur Schule gegangen. Ich bin immer schon gerne gereist, andere Länder faszinieren mich. Im Jahr 2000 hatte ich die Gelegenheit mit meinem Mann und 2 kleinen Kindern nach Kalifornien umzuziehen. Wir haben über 7 Jahre im Silicon Valley in der Nähe von San Francisco gelebt. Seit unserer Rückkehr sind wir in Düsseldorf zu Hause.

Ich habe an der Technischen Universität München Informatik studiert, zu einer Zeit als das Internet noch in den Kinderschuhen steckte. Da gab es noch Modems, die wenigsten hatten eine Email-Adresse und schon gar nicht war man ständig online. In den USA war das World Wide Web bereits viel gegenwärtiger. Die Preschool meiner Kinder hatte eine Website. Unser Haus fanden wir nicht in der Zeitung, sondern im Internet. MapQuest (ein Vorläufer von Google Maps) hat uns den Weg gezeigt. Und zu Partys kam ein Evite – eine elektronische Einladung. Fasziniert von den Möglichkeiten des Internets kümmerte ich mich bald um die Webseite der Preschool. Später habe ich mich am Foothill College, Los Altos Hills, Kalifornien in “Web Publishing” weitergebildet.

2005 habe ich mich selbständig gemacht und bin seitdem als Freelancer im Bereich Webdesign und Webseitenbetreuung selbständig tätig. Als es Anfang 2008 zurück nach Deutschland ging, habe ich meinen kleinen Kundenstamm aus den USA beibehalten und betreue diesen zum Teil bis heute. Mit meinen Erfahrungen aus dem Umgang mit interessierten aber nicht technisch orientierten Kunden habe ich mich im Bereich Websites für Kleinunternehmen und Content-Management-Systemen spezialisiert.